Hard Times LogoThere are 30 players vying for the trophy at Hard Times Billiards in Bellflower, California, outside of Las Angeles. Included in the illustrious field are four U.S. National champions, including five-time and current champ Pedro Piedraburena. Luis Avila from Mexico and Javier Teran from Ecuador, both former winners of the ConfederaciĆ³n Panamerican de Billar tournament, are also in the field, as are a host of very tough B, B+ and A players. So now the hard work begins!

The players have been broken into five groups of six, where they will play a round robin. The top two players in each group will advance to the finals along with the winner of a raffle and the winner of a lottery. The twelve will move to the semi-finals of two groups of six. The top two in each of the semi-final groups will play for the championship and the top prize money.

Group A
Michael Kang
Jamil Isreal
Soon Hong
Carlos Palafox
Luis Franco
James Cho
Group B
Pedro Piedrabuena
H. Landa
Jim Shovak
Javier Teran
Isidro Diaz
John Lee
Group C
Hugo Patino
Gilbert Najm
Luis Avila
Carlos Alias
B. Khalifa
Andonio Rivera
Group D
Sonny Cho
Kevin Kwak
A. Velazquez
Raye Raskin
Alberto Perz
Vicky Pineda
Group E
Mazin Shooni
Ricardo Carranco
Salvatore Diaz
J. Lizarraga
Eduardo Gomez
C. Alvarez


Play began Friday morning and will continue until late Sunday. The tournament will be live streamed on Saturday and Sunday. The live stream begins at 12:15 p.m. Pacific Time on Saturday.



Hard Times Day OneHard Times Shot two